Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Metering on the 24 FET RF deck




 
The AM Forum
June 18, 2019, 05:28:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Metering on the 24 FET RF deck  (Read 695 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
N1XBM
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« on: May 08, 2019, 07:10:33 PM »

Things are coming along nicely, I am basically done with the 4 modules and all of the parts. Essentially I need to build from the output of T1 to the RF output. I am starting to think about the front panel. I notice on Steve's schematic he specifically says to put your drain bus meters at the modulator. Is there any reason why I shouldn't or cant mount them at the RF deck? Also I love me some metering, any negatives to having a volt and current meter for the drain supply?
Logged
w8khk
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 850


This ham got his ticket the old fashioned way.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2019, 07:45:56 PM »

The main reason to put the meters in the modulator is so that you may have two or more RF decks on multiple bands, sharing the same modulator, so you will not have to purchase meters for each RF deck.  it is simply a matter of economics.
Logged

Rick / W8KHK  ex WB2HKX, WB4GNR
ka1tdq
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1216


Massachusetts Democrat


« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2019, 08:04:01 PM »

On the 24-FET transmitter I'm building, I'm mounting the 4 drain current measuring shunts along with one for measuring total IXDD driver current on the RF deck. To save space I'm mounting them vertically. I think they all cost me a little over $20 shipped from China. The 75mV meters are about the same cost.

In my opinion, mount away!

Jon


* shunts.jpg (3748.93 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 64 times.)
Logged

Just follow the instructions, more or less.
http://www.ka1tdq.radio
ka1tdq
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1216


Massachusetts Democrat


« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2019, 09:57:45 AM »

Actually, here's what I'm going to do for my meters. They'll be mounted in a 4" channel from Home Depot and have a blue LED strip to illuminate the meters. It's meant to be remote and sitting by itself, but I'll set mine next to the transmitter.

Jon


* Remote Meter Bar.jpg (2679.25 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 59 times.)
Logged

Just follow the instructions, more or less.
http://www.ka1tdq.radio
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7179



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2019, 08:12:28 PM »

How will you make the holes for the meters? I look at nibblers but they are not easy on thick (1/8") panels, or more likely, my hands don't like a lot of linear inches nibbled a tiny bit at a time.
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
ka1tdq
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1216


Massachusetts Democrat


« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2019, 09:22:51 PM »

This is the material I was thinking of. Itís thin and would reflect light pretty well. Iíll weld up a frame for it to be mounted to since the metal is flimsy like tin.

Jon


* 6FF76FF0-820D-4001-9643-E2D542562BEE.jpeg (2630.42 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 53 times.)
Logged

Just follow the instructions, more or less.
http://www.ka1tdq.radio
KD6VXI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2001


Making AM GREAT Again!


« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2019, 09:14:37 AM »

Those are steel 2x4.  Used in commercial construction.  Typically 22 to 26 gauge

They can be cut with tin snips and chop saws with the appropriate blade.

You'll be fine with a nibble in that. I agree with using a backup or other piece of metal for rigidity.... Otherwise they REALLY flex.  One of those things where individual parts suck, but the system is really strong kind of things.

--Shane
KD6VXI
Logged
steve_qix
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2427


Bap!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2019, 09:57:52 PM »

Things are coming along nicely, I am basically done with the 4 modules and all of the parts. Essentially I need to build from the output of T1 to the RF output. I am starting to think about the front panel. I notice on Steve's schematic he specifically says to put your drain bus meters at the modulator. Is there any reason why I shouldn't or cant mount them at the RF deck? Also I love me some metering, any negatives to having a volt and current meter for the drain supply?

There is no particular reason to put the meters on the modulator other than the fact that you only have one set of meters to calibrate.   And the RF amp can be smaller (which for me is a factor).

Otherwise, in theory, they can go anywhere.
Logged

High Power, Broadcast Audio and Low Cost?  Check out the class E web site at: http://www.classeradio.org
ka1tdq
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1216


Massachusetts Democrat


« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2019, 04:56:59 PM »

I finished welding the frame and mounted metal stud to it. I ordered the 7 meters that'll be mounted there and the blue LED strip.

Jon


* IMG_1184.jpg (3226.42 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 50 times.)
Logged

Just follow the instructions, more or less.
http://www.ka1tdq.radio
ka1tdq
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1216


Massachusetts Democrat


« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2019, 08:00:55 PM »

I painted the panel black and mounted the LED lights. I'm just waiting on the meters to arrive.

Jon


* Meter Panel Blue.jpg (2408.54 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 39 times.)
Logged

Just follow the instructions, more or less.
http://www.ka1tdq.radio
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7179



WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2019, 12:53:17 AM »

Looks good!
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
n1ps
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 286


Zorch!


« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2019, 07:56:15 PM »

I mounted the meters and shunts in the RF deck, more because there was space in the RF cabinet.  I also think it better to monitor each module and would prefer one wire pair to feed the deck (DC) rather than 4.  I bypassed all wires going in/out of the RF deck, the fewer the better.

~ps
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone © 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 18 queries.