Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Next Radio




 
The AM Forum
June 17, 2019, 09:32:35 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Next Radio  (Read 903 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
WA1HZK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1081


WWW
« on: April 14, 2019, 06:17:33 PM »

Heathkit TX-1, the "Apache"
This one was sitting on the floor at my place for at least ten years.
No cabinet, no knobs, no tubes.
Well this weekend I found a set of black knurled old fashioned knobs. Took some grinding to make them all fit the rather short shafts but they are on.
Then dug through boxes of tubes and found a complete set, even those EL34's that I have no idea where I got those.
So next weekend it needs a power cord. If I can get any RF out of it I'll remove the front panel and fix the rotary frequency display that must have died 30 years ago.
They will rise again. Every old boat anchor will find a home.
Lata
KC
Logged

AM is Not A Hobby - It's a "Way of Life"!
Timmy, Sometime in 2007 on a Mountain Far Away..
www.criticalradio.com
www.criticalbattery.com
www.criticaltowers.com
www.criticalresponder.com
Official Registered "Old Buzzard"
KA0HCP
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1142



« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2019, 11:03:16 AM »

"Hurrah!"
Logged

New callsign KA0HCP, ex-KB4QAA.  Relocated to Kansas in April 2019.
WA1HZK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1081


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2019, 06:14:09 PM »

OK
Last weekend I found a decent set of knobs and actually found a new set of tubes.
This weekend I rigged a tower lamp 600 watt bulb in series with the power lead. Powered it up and ZORCH! I found out why the last owner ditched it.
Short in the harness up where the AC came in.
Cure was to rip out all of the existing AC wiring around that area and install a 10 amp fuse and a three wire cord. I had labeled the wires before I started so once I got rid of the charred wiring it looked like it might go. Hooked up the 600 watt bulb again and it came to life. No filter caps installed yet so no transmit test. BUT the low voltage transformer powered up and when I hit the plate switch, the HV transformer powered up with no change in the current metering light bulb! I win, the iron is good. Anything else can be easily repaired.
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!
Logged

AM is Not A Hobby - It's a "Way of Life"!
Timmy, Sometime in 2007 on a Mountain Far Away..
www.criticalradio.com
www.criticalbattery.com
www.criticaltowers.com
www.criticalresponder.com
Official Registered "Old Buzzard"
w4bfs
W4 Beans For Supper
Contributing
Member
*
Online Online

Posts: 1265


more inpoot often yields more outpoot


« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2019, 02:54:13 PM »

I urge you to add a separate fuse for the lower power transformer as they are becoming unobtanium
Logged

Beefus

O would some power the gift give us
to see ourselves as others see us.
It would from many blunders free us.         Robert Burns
WA1HZK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1081


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2019, 06:03:01 PM »

OK
Thanks, I will.
Guessing 4-5 amp?
Orig. was a 7.5 slo-blow
10 Amp fast in there now.
KC
Logged

AM is Not A Hobby - It's a "Way of Life"!
Timmy, Sometime in 2007 on a Mountain Far Away..
www.criticalradio.com
www.criticalbattery.com
www.criticaltowers.com
www.criticalresponder.com
Official Registered "Old Buzzard"
w4bfs
W4 Beans For Supper
Contributing
Member
*
Online Online

Posts: 1265


more inpoot often yields more outpoot


« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2019, 10:33:19 PM »


Don't over fuse !!      you will not have proper protection

several ways to get to proper fuse size ....

 1. calculate iron core size area or weight ... 10 Watts per pound .... so a 10 pound transformer could be protected by 1 amp  fuse

 2.  measure power consumed .... the kill-a-volt devices come to mind .... clamp on ammeter as well

 3.  add up secondary loads and reflect that power back to primary

remember that the initial turn on power may be much higher due to cold filaments and discharged power supply caps
Logged

Beefus

O would some power the gift give us
to see ourselves as others see us.
It would from many blunders free us.         Robert Burns
WA1HZK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1081


WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2019, 10:32:11 PM »

OK
Here's a question. Does anyone have a Apache transmitter out of the box that they could look at and let me know where a few wires in the Power supply go?

It's the wires coming out of the final cage going to the 6146's.

Refer to page 52 of the assembly manual.

Out of hole "FL" going into the power supply.

I know the Red wire goes to the HV. The shorter wire with the red one, where does it go? I looks like it goes to HV also?

Then the two other wires coming out of the other shield

I think the brown one went to JS #4?

And I have no idea where the yellow one went.

There is some stuff missing from this chassis and I'm just not sure of those 4 wires.

Keith
WA1HZK
Logged

AM is Not A Hobby - It's a "Way of Life"!
Timmy, Sometime in 2007 on a Mountain Far Away..
www.criticalradio.com
www.criticalbattery.com
www.criticaltowers.com
www.criticalresponder.com
Official Registered "Old Buzzard"
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.057 seconds with 19 queries.