Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Power supply HV_LV Switch




 
The AM Forum
August 21, 2018, 12:26:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Power supply HV_LV Switch  (Read 766 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
W4AMV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 512


« on: April 21, 2018, 06:05:43 PM »

I would like to provide a low power, high power
selection mode for a small tube amplifier. The HV
transformer I have has a pair of primary winding
available for 120 or 240 V. No secondary CT.
So the relays Ry1 and Ry2 could be arranged to place the winding
series aid (LV) or in parallel for HV operation. All operation
is 120 V in. Any issues here? Do I have to protect
against hot switching. Should I have spark suppressor
R-C on the relay contact points?

Thanks, Alan


* HV_LV_Switch.jpg (121.94 KB, 931x452 - viewed 124 times.)
Logged
PA0NVD
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 277


Nico and Chappie (Chappie is the dog...)


« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2018, 06:46:07 PM »

Depends fully on the relay type and size. We used to swich RF generator power this way between various power setting using contactors, up to 50 kW. If you use a hefty relay capable of switching motor loads in this power range, I don't see a problem. You Mains switch does the same without snubber networks.
Logged
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2131


« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2018, 06:53:22 PM »

Shouldn't be a problem to hot switch the primaries.  No different than when you turn on the on/off switch.  But better to do this with a single DPDT relay.

Using two relays could cause a problem if one or the other fails to trip.  Possible timing of the two relays could also be a problem.  Work out the circuit with one DPDT relay

Fred
Logged
W4AMV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 512


« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2018, 09:05:45 PM »

Thanks for the inputs guys. Fred, agree, one relay.

One concern on the hot switch and I have to go through design details, is the tuned plate load Z in low power will be quite incorrect in high power. So I may force some sort of protection just in case.

The snub components are minimal overhead, I may add them just for insurance. The relay I have in mind is a motor control unit. Switches 15 HP 220 V motors.
Logged
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2131


« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2018, 09:24:09 PM »

Are you sure a 15HP contactor is going to be big enough Grin  How big is the xfmr??
Logged
W4AMV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 512


« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2018, 12:13:17 AM »

Ha Ha Fred. Typo. 1/5 HP. The transformer, its not that large. 20 ohm secondary, 1250 V/1 A.

I think the contact ratings are 10 A. 

Alan
Logged
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2131


« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2018, 01:22:04 AM »

A xfmr with a 1250v/1a secondary can draw over 10 amps on the primary when run on 120vac.  You may need a heavier relay than 10amps.
Logged
W4AMV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 512


« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2018, 09:54:46 AM »

Hi Fred. Yes, although I will not be even close to that secondary load current.
It is more transformer than I require for the application.
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2180


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2018, 07:54:40 PM »

Seems to me it would be a bit more "rugged" to use both primary windings in parallel & phase for 120V operation.

Just to keep the VA through it linear, ya know.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
W4AMV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 512


« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2018, 08:06:22 PM »

Correct Dennis. However, I wanted a low power tune mode.

I am not demanding high current from this xmfr. Although
it will handle easily 1A plate Ip, I am down at 300 ma
probably tops.
Logged
WU2D
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1659


CW is just a narrower version of AM


« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2018, 09:46:52 PM »

I use a resistor with a relay across it for tune-operate in my 100 Watt.
Logged

These are the good old days of AM
KD6VXI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1848


Making AM GREAT Again!


« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2018, 11:54:08 PM »

If it's a tetrode, you can drop the screen voltage.

With the arrangement shown, if you tune for 1/4 power out in low, when you double the voltage, you should be pretty close to being in tune.

Double the voltage, quadruple the power output.  Tis how we amplitude modulate!

--Shane
KD6VXI
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.05 seconds with 18 queries.