The AM Forum
March 28, 2024, 10:01:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding a 6146B stage to my transmitter  (Read 15594 times)
w9jsw
Two shots of Whisky
Contributing

« on: March 19, 2018, 11:03:57 AM »

I am a complete noob to this hollow state technology. I am building this transmitter to learn more about it so I can have more fun on the AM window. Currently I have been running a homebuilt SDR and solid state amp that runs 50W peak and about 12 W carrier. Does ok, but lacks warmth hihi... You can see it on my QRZed page. I could easily grab a solid state amp but where is the fun there?

Anyway, I am currently building a HT-4U transmitter I found out about that is described in Electric Radio issue #279. It uses Heising modulation and puts out around 6w of carrier. As I am building this I am already thinking of more power. The natural next step seems to be to a 6146B stage. I just acquired a 500-0-500 plate transformer that would fit the bill nicely, and I am comfortable with building the PS to deliver all of the voltages required by the tube. Since I am learning I thought it good to target the 300V supply for the transmitter and a 750V supply for the 6146 amp. Not ready to tackle KV rated supplies.

I have a couple of designs for linears built along the lines of Dr. Latta AA8V -

http://faculty.frostburg.edu/phys/latta/ee/6146amp/6146amp.html