Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Another QIX transmitter hits the airwaves...




 
The AM Forum
December 15, 2018, 06:47:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Another QIX transmitter hits the airwaves...  (Read 1895 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
GW0FZY
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« on: February 24, 2018, 03:50:47 PM »

Eventually sorted out all my minor problems with the build and had my first QSO with my new TX on 3.615 Mhz with excellent audio reports. Just ticking over with 100 w carrier. Thought I would share a few pics. Thanks to Steve for doing all the hard work and making all this available.
73
Justin GW0FZY
Swansea, UK


* B989C34D-A817-4976-9E71-D3C355D8A47C.jpeg (2845.67 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 288 times.)

* A109EBF8-1F22-4ED1-8C78-0D927D8338C9.jpeg (2274.99 KB, 4032x3024 - viewed 286 times.)
Logged
K6IC
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 723


« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 12:04:52 AM »

Congratulations,  Justin!

Very neat looking rig  --  love those meters.

Have Fun,  73,   Vic
Logged
GW0FZY
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2018, 05:14:11 AM »

Thanks Vic! The meters are called Trumeters and they are available quite easily although they are a bit pricey. If you search on youtube there’s a chap in the US who has also used them for a Class E rig.
Logged
Steve - K4HX
Administrator
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2429



« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2018, 11:36:32 AM »

Beautiful!
Logged
steve_qix
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2388


Bap!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2018, 12:44:33 PM »

Beautiful job!  Nice!!

I'll listen in on some of the SDRs over in your part of the world if I know when you're often on.  Would like to hear the rig operating - that would be neat  Smiley

Logged

High Power, Broadcast Audio and Low Cost?  Check out the class E web site at: http://www.classeradio.org
GW0FZY
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2018, 03:34:00 PM »

Steve,

Most of the AM activity in the UK on 80 is on 3.615 Mhz. We have a net on Saturday mornings ( The VMARS net, Vintage Military Amateur Radio Society) which starts at about 0730 GMT and runs to about 10.30 so I will be on this coming weekend with the new rig. Best local SDR's are Hackgreen or G4FPH ( aka the Fabulous 160m SDR) so if you're up would be good to hear the rig and let us know what you think.

73's Justin
Logged
KB3WFV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 24



« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2018, 10:11:55 PM »

Thanks Vic! The meters are called Trumeters and they are available quite easily although they are a bit pricey. If you search on youtube there’s a chap in the US who has also used them for a Class E rig.

Looking Good! The high visibility and programmable alarm set points/alert colors made the meter worth every penny to me.

73 from the Chap in the US.

KB3WFV
Brian


* 743EFEB2-BBC8-466D-A0FE-732FD716DE8D.jpeg (1101.16 KB, 2592x1936 - viewed 156 times.)

* 03C7F5FC-B084-475D-BE59-7E1E0710718F.jpeg (1136.98 KB, 2592x1936 - viewed 153 times.)

* 125C8FD2-8B43-4BDA-80D1-1E3834A6CFD1.jpeg (1104.46 KB, 2592x1936 - viewed 170 times.)
Logged
GW0FZY
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2018, 01:12:16 AM »

Well done Brian! Yes your video was what persuaded me to splash out on the Trumeters ( they should give you a commission!!) . I battled to get 10 amp shunts on mine so in the end got a couple from China. Problem I had was trying to program them with shunt to get a linear and accurate display; I don't know if you had the same problem? One of my ammeters still reads a little higher than other. Overall, they do make the rig look the part.

Justin
Logged
KB3WFV
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 24



« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2018, 08:16:18 PM »

Hi Justin

Thanks!A commission would be nice. I ended up using the shunts that came off the analog meters that I replaced. I noticed that these meters are VERY sensitive, weak connections or even different lengths of hook up wire will change the meter readings and make things hard to calibrate.

A very cool meter, and as far as I know Justin , you and I are the only two e rigs using the trumeter meters.

Brian
KB3WFV
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone © 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 18 queries.