Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Powerstat 1226 variac




 
The AM Forum
December 11, 2017, 06:03:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Powerstat 1226 variac  (Read 379 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
wd0cfc
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« on: November 20, 2017, 10:43:23 PM »

I have a powerstat 1226 autotransformer
I am feeding in 120 volts ac and as i turn it up im getting over 200 volts ac out.
Is that normal?
Logged
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1998


« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 10:57:09 PM »

No,  make sure you have it connected correctly.  I would have to look up that model number to see what type it is.  Normally you would not get that much increase in voltage.
Logged
wd0cfc
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 11:21:09 PM »

Ok can you please do that its a 1226  ser 8259


* IMG_0508.jpg (1229.56 KB, 3264x2448 - viewed 49 times.)

* IMG_0509.jpg (1218.66 KB, 3264x2448 - viewed 40 times.)

* IMG_0510.jpg (1028.6 KB, 3264x2448 - viewed 44 times.)
Logged
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1998


« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2017, 11:47:08 PM »

It's not a standard type powerstat.  I'll see if I can find it in the catalog, may take 15-20 minutes.  The terminal board connections are not that clear as to how to hook it up.

Fred
Logged
wd0cfc
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2017, 12:11:34 AM »

ok thanks
Logged
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6738



WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2017, 12:32:53 AM »

This accepts either 115 or 230V input.

Its output is 0-270V when the right voltage is applied to the right input.

If you want 0-135V output, feed the 120VAC into the 230V input.

The current rating will apply. 9A I believe.

If the unit's good, this should solve the issue.


* 1226 powerstat.jpg (137.87 KB, 550x682 - viewed 61 times.)
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1998


« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2017, 12:35:56 AM »

Could not find anything on that 1226 type.  It may have been a special, not a regular catalog model.  Never saw one labeled with a dual voltage.  Goggle is the next place to look.  I'll look and see if anything comes up.
Logged
wd0cfc
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2017, 12:43:22 AM »

thanks it worked
Logged
KA2DZT
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1998


« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2017, 01:03:25 AM »

This accepts either 115 or 230V input.

Its output is 0-270V when the right voltage is applied to the right input.

If you want 0-135V output, feed the 120VAC into the 230V input.

The current rating will apply. 9A I believe.

If the unit's good, this should solve the issue.


Thanks Patrick,  

That's what I thought it was, a dual input voltage type.  Your terminal board and label is a lot more clearly marked.  The one that the OP pictured is not that clear.

I think that if you connect it to 115v it will give output voltage all the way to 270v.  The 115v terminal must be half way between the common and the 230v terminal.  The output wiper will run to the far end of the winding yielding the 270v output.  Does not look like there is a terminal connected at the high end of the winding, so the unit can only be used in the step-up mode.

The way to use it on 115v and yielding only 135v is to connect 115v to the 230v terminal.

So, connect the 115v line to the common and the 230v terminal and the output will be only around 0v-135v.  Of course the normal line voltage is more like 125v so the output would probably be 0v-148v.

Fred
Logged
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6738



WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2017, 01:29:09 AM »

true the higher voltage for today's line. I only knew because I have some 13KVA ones with multiple input voltages. The big ones do not seem to have changed from the 'old' appearance and are in the more recent catalogs. That 1226 one is probably in an older catalog before 1958. The corresponding schematic is below for the 13kva model.

The nice thing about these is that with the thing being an autotransformer, the input taps can be used to get 230V@4.5A from 115V@9A, or 115V@9A from 230V@4.5A. Meaning that no part of the winding can do more than the 9A rating.

A possible example is to use the unit on 230V as a plate transformer variac and run the final bias or filament transformer from the 115V tap which ought remain fairly constant.

Very nice part there.


* dual voltage variac.jpg (64.55 KB, 532x531 - viewed 63 times.)
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
wd0cfc
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2017, 03:43:43 AM »

Got it at a hamfest for 25 dollars lol
Logged
Opcom
Patrick J. / KD5OEI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6738



WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2017, 08:32:33 PM »

haha what a deal! Last owner probably didn't figure it out!
Logged

Radio Candelstein - Flagship Station of the NRK Radio Network.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.06 seconds with 18 queries.