Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Any ideas on this plate transformer? T-368?




 
The AM Forum
June 22, 2017, 04:36:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Any ideas on this plate transformer? T-368?  (Read 455 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
N0WEK
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 751



« on: March 03, 2017, 01:12:27 AM »

I got this door stop, about 100 lbs worth, for $20 at the local surplus store. It's never had the terminals soldered to anything, just lots of shelf wear. It's got continuity in all the right places. Single 115 volt primary and 3168-0-3168 @ 500 ma secondary if I'm reading it right. Just from the voltages I was thinking T-368 but it only has the single primary. Made for Specialty Electronic Development Corp by Industrial Transformer Corp. ITC DP-6273 other numbers on the pictures.

Anybody recognize this?

Thanks

Greg


* 20170302_180535.jpg (1116.4 KB, 2560x1536 - viewed 84 times.)

* 20170302_180445.jpg (1035.02 KB, 2560x1536 - viewed 102 times.)
Logged

Diesel boats and tube gear forever!
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2165


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 02:07:58 AM »

Yep, sure looks to be for the T-3.

$20 was a great deal, too.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
N0WEK
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 751



« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2017, 02:17:58 AM »

Yep, sure looks to be for the T-3.

$20 was a great deal, too.

73DG

I noticed the the T-368C model used a single 115 vac primary and 6336 vct secondary.

I don't have a T368 but at that price I couldn't pass it up, although my back didn't like it and it's still on the right front floor of the truck.

I'll have to live to be 100 to catch up on all the projects in line here, including a Gates BC-1J and a BC-610E, before I get to building a big one from scratch but I am accumulating parts when they show up. I've got lots of plate iron but I'm short a modulation reactor.

Thanks,

Greg
Logged

Diesel boats and tube gear forever!
WB6NVH
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 176


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2017, 11:40:13 AM »

I have the same thing here, the 120 V primary only T-368 transformer.  I can't believe I actually carried that thing a couple of blocks out of a flea market to my car, but then again that must have been 20 years ago... Undecided
Logged

Geoff Fors
Monterey, California
N0WEK
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 751



« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2017, 03:09:11 PM »

I have the same thing here, the 120 V primary only T-368 transformer.  I can't believe I actually carried that thing a couple of blocks out of a flea market to my car, but then again that must have been 20 years ago... Undecided

I'm carrying 40 lbs now about like I carried 100 lbs 25 years ago, that transformer is still on the floor of my truck until I get some help extracting it.

Rust and gravity never sleep!
Logged

Diesel boats and tube gear forever!
W2PFY
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12922



« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2017, 02:40:03 PM »

Quote
Single 115 volt primary and 3168-0-3168 @ 500 ma secondary

I have a BC-610D model and I had to install the plate transformer It was a real effort to pick it up and then install it in the rig. I didn't bolt it down as we don't get too many earth quakes in NE NY state! I have another 610 plate transformer that was gifted to me and I haven't taken it from my friends qth as of this date.

I plan to test this 610 transformer under load to see how much the voltage drops up to a 1 amp load. I have the feeling that the 610 transformers are way under rated and that it may handle one amp without a significant voltage drop. It would be interesting to know the wire gauge in the secondary? I wish it were the dual voltage model. BTW years ago I bought a plate transformer that is about 2.5 KVA for $10.00 at a ham fest. I asked the seller why he sold it to me for little money. He said he was tired of moving it around and wanted to make sure he got rid of it. It's now in a home brew amp and it's very happy there!

Has anyone out there done any tests for capacity as described above?
Logged

The secrecy of my job prevents me from knowing what I am doing.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.077 seconds with 18 queries.