Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Eimac 4CX1500B - How to test?




 
The AM Forum
April 30, 2017, 06:33:21 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Eimac 4CX1500B - How to test?  (Read 422 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
K2GTM
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18



« on: February 24, 2017, 06:12:02 PM »

Hello all,

I've come across six Eimac 4CX1500B "pulls" in varying physical condition.  I'd like to find out if they are viable by doing as many tests as I can.  I can check the filaments for continuity and the other elements for shorts, but I don't have any equipment that can run them.  I also wish I had a megger to do some HV tests...

I heard that at one time a fellow named John at Econco would test them for free, but he has retired.  Does anyone else do this sort of testing?

Thanks and 73!
Greg K2GTM
Logged
KD6VXI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495


« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2017, 07:42:36 PM »

Econco still tests. 

John would do it for free, depending on mood, customer status, etc.  Correct, I believe he is gone now.

Econco's pricing has gotten out of hand lately.  They have also started charging for banked tubes.....  Prices charged are determined at the time you ask for your tube back, instead of when you sent it in to be rebuilt.  This was a change from a decade or so ago, when I used econco regularly.

There is a company out of Florida, iirc, that tests tubes.  EBay is where I saw them advertised.  Qrz has good reviews of the outfit.

Capacitance checks are one way I test.  If the interelectrode capacitance s are grossly off, I 'dud' the tube, as I look at it as the elements have shifted from factory location or an 'element' (tungsten, etc) may have been stripped from tube element.  This could be purely a feel good move, I don't know.

--Shane
KD6VXI
Logged
K2GTM
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18



« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2017, 10:53:52 PM »

Shane,

I talked with a tech at Econco today and he said that they couldn't test that tube because they didn't have the settings for it in their test jig.  He also said that they only test tubes that they rebuild and they don't do these?

I'll do some digging on eBay for that other company...

That's a good idea.  I should be able to accomplish testing for capacitance.  These tubes look a bit rough and are probably no good, but I hate throwing tubes out - even when I know they're dead!

73,
-G
Logged
Detroit47
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 411


N8QPC on your AM dial


« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2017, 01:38:57 AM »

Shane
John C retired
Logged

The only thing you will ever regret is the thing you didn't do.
KD6VXI
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495


« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2017, 03:21:01 PM »

Ahh, that explains a lot.

Last time checked, I about puked when they told me what a 4x5 out of the bank was going to cost.

--Shane
KD6VXI
Logged
K5IIA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 392



« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2017, 10:58:46 PM »

That is the company that bought freelands tube rebuilding.  I was very disappointed when they instantly layed everyone off, had an auction for equipment, and sold the land and buildings.   I live in the middle of nowhere and it was a 10 to 15 min drive there from my house on just old highways and back roads.   

You can still lookup Freeland online and call them, but it automatically goes to econoco

Money and profit drives it all, but still sucks haha
Logged

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

73, Brandon K5iia
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.112 seconds with 18 queries.