The AM Forum
March 28, 2024, 08:13:10 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Project VIking II, another brother, but BETTER !  (Read 31370 times)
KI4THX
El' Guappo Ernesto

It's 106 Miles To Chicago, We Got A Full Tank Of G

« on: August 08, 2013, 11:16:54 PM »

Well figured it was time to start this behemoths own thread, Ive been rambling on other threads but the time has come ! Arrived via Fed-to-the-X today !

Stripping her down for cleaning and repair tonight ! Yes yes..... IT is ON !

Ok, turning down the volumn level no more exclamation marks. Front main dial coupling.....mangled and covered in a gob of silicon. I am a far better mechanic than electrical fiddle-farter so Ill takle that first after clean up.

I have notice a lot of out of place and new/oddball parts underneath the chassis. My first Viking, and I have yet to start tracing wiring, but there seems to be two added relays. PTT Huh? anything else you guys see out of place or worth noting please speak up, ha.

It's 106 Miles To Chicago, We Got A Full Tank Of Gas, Half A Pack Of Cigarettes, It's Dark And We're Wearing Sunglasses.

HIT IT !
KI4THX
El' Guappo Ernesto

« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2013, 04:47:43 PM »

Fixed the coupling with two cotter pins, works great and has no rotational play. re-assembled and ran up on a variac with no 5R4 tubes installed. All seemed well ramping it up slowly, then.... I noticed the cherry red 6AL5. Flipping the anvil over, it appears these 15mf 450V caps might be a little dry...ha. Someone was definitely on a budget when the were messing with this thing.

So, the 6AL5 tube, got awefully red ! No fireworks though, just a really hot hot toooob.

Cleaned up the rig.

Rebel caps in view.

Dryer than a popcorn fart.