The AM Forum
March 28, 2024, 02:25:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Antenna rope  (Read 17002 times)
K6JEK
Contributing

RF in the shack

« on: July 05, 2011, 02:44:39 AM »

The dipole is down.  The Dacron UV resistant 3/16" antenna rope from Wireman broke.  It looks like something sharp got it, maybe a critter (*).  I've been using this stuff for awhile.  It does seem to last, or did, anyway.

Anyone have a different favorite?   Anything tougher?

* This rope was looped through a pulley at 50' up in a redwood tree to support one end of the 75M dipole.  The other end reached nearly to the ground where it was tied to counterweights. I climbed that tree to put it up and am not relishing doing that again.
K3ZS

« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2011, 09:38:16 AM »

I have been using 3/8' double braided dacron for 10 years without breakage.  Where it is tight, there has been no wear,  where the excess is coiled up, the critters have been eating it.   Cut ends of the rope should be burned with a lighter  to keep it from fraying.   I moved one section of the antenna and cut off the excess rope so it could be used again without being critter food.   If I have to lower that end I will tie another section to it to lower it and remove it again after raising it.
flintstone mop
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2011, 10:42:44 AM »

ooops!! I better start checking my stuff out cuz another installation had the 3/16 and it became brittle and broke recently. About 5yrs old also.
The 5/16 stuff is still manageable,,, a little more scrote.
3/8 gets into serious rope!!!!

Fred KC4MOP
K1JJ
Contributing

"Let's go kayaking, Tommy!" - Yaz

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2011, 11:51:47 AM »

http://www.synthetictextilesinc.com/supportham.html