The AM Forum
July 14, 2024, 01:57:45 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: BC-696/ARC-5: AM phone conversion & power supply?  (Read 25338 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
VE3AJM
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 379



« Reply #25 on: July 14, 2015, 08:45:13 AM »

Hi Rich

Looks like a VFO that you have. Heres some info that may help you reverse engineer that unit you have and return it to stock form. Hopefully you can find some complete units up there and some parts.

Al VE3AJM

* vfoarc5.pdf (2552.59 KB - downloaded 755 times.)
Logged
N3GTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« Reply #26 on: July 15, 2015, 07:42:14 PM »

Don't think it's been rewired for 12v. Most of the time the power resistor on the back wall is removed (126ohms). It balances the heater current between the 1626 and the 1629.
Here's a pic of the roller inductor: https://www.flickr.com/photos/53710524@N06/
Each different tx (band) uses a different roller so there is 4 or 5 common ones but you need the one for a ARC-5 T-19 or for the BC-696.
Don't really need the ant relay but selector relay (the one underneath) is pretty handy to use to key it.
Terry N3GTE
Logged
N3GTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« Reply #27 on: July 15, 2015, 07:48:53 PM »

If you have already had a chance to take a look here's a great series on the BC/ARC tx's.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x2IlIrYPTSM

Enjoy!

Terry N3GTE
Logged
N3GTE
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« Reply #28 on: July 16, 2015, 05:48:01 PM »

Sorry wrong Filckr link. Here's the right one:  https://www.flickr.com/photos/53710524@N06/6716953139/in/dateposted/
Also you can see the ant relay and ant spring contact. Usually missing. I believe the pic is a BC-696. Note the roller and the turns on it just to give you an idea how many it has. The two odd band and the 40mtr tx have less turns. There is a part # on the end that verify which set it goes to.

Terry N3GTE
Logged
W7TFO
WTF-OVER in 7 land Dennis
Contributing
Member
*
Online Online

Posts: 2472


IN A TRIODE NO ONE CAN HEAR YOUR SCREEN


WWW
« Reply #29 on: July 16, 2015, 09:32:27 PM »

Pull a little reverse engineering on that job, keep us informed.

73DG
Logged

Just pacing the Farady cage...
WB4AM
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 157


« Reply #30 on: July 18, 2015, 12:47:26 AM »

How difficult would it be to adapt a BC-696/ARC-5 transmitter (3.0-4.0 MHz) to AM phone use? The original modulator/dynamotor units seem to be hard to find. Also, is there any information out there on how to build a power supply for these transmitters?

Another Dynamotor on QTH...http://swap.qth.com/view_ad.php?counter=1209278

The ad makes one think it is for free for the picking it up and hauling it away?

Ken

Logged
KC8MWG
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #31 on: July 18, 2015, 07:59:08 AM »

How difficult would it be to adapt a BC-696/ARC-5 transmitter (3.0-4.0 MHz) to AM phone use? The original modulator/dynamotor units seem to be hard to find. Also, is there any information out there on how to build a power supply for these transmitters?

Another Dynamotor on QTH...http://swap.qth.com/view_ad.php?counter=1209278

The ad makes one think it is for free for the picking it up and hauling it away?

Ken


WAY too far away, unfortunately, for me to travel to get it - the gas costs (not to mention other travel expenses) would exceed the value of the power supply!
Logged
WB4AM
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 157


« Reply #32 on: July 18, 2015, 02:24:30 PM »

How difficult would it be to adapt a BC-696/ARC-5 transmitter (3.0-4.0 MHz) to AM phone use? The original modulator/dynamotor units seem to be hard to find. Also, is there any information out there on how to build a power supply for these transmitters?
Another Dynamotor on QTH...http://swap.qth.com/view_ad.php?counter=1209278
The ad makes one think it is for free for the picking it up and hauling it away?
Ken
WAY too far away, unfortunately, for me to travel to get it - the gas costs (not to mention other travel expenses) would exceed the value of the power supply!

Yea I didn't know one way or the other if there were other means of retrieving it?  I thought I would just put it out there, one never knows...?

Ken
 
Logged
WB3JOK
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 635



« Reply #33 on: August 16, 2015, 10:23:27 PM »

You may find some useful tips on this thread:
http://amfone.net/Amforum/index.php?topic=37682.0
 Grin
(Keep reading the whole thread, if you have the patience... after the receiver adventures, I started on the transmitter and amplifier).

Don't butcher up the filament wiring. It's not hard to come up with 24-28 volts if you're building a PS anyway...
I love my ARC-5's  Cool
-Charles
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 19 queries.