The AM Forum
July 17, 2024, 03:10:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What SP does this choke go into?  (Read 3410 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
w1vtp
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2632



« on: March 18, 2010, 07:46:03 PM »

Got this fro eBay

Looks like it might go into a SP600.  Anyone know what the current specs are?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250593517809&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
Logged
ke7trp
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3654



« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2010, 12:17:09 AM »

Hmmm.  It looks a little different then the SP600 choke.  I have an SP 600 on the floor right here.  That radio used TWO of them side by side.  I looked through the SP600 manual for you. No ratings listed. According to a website, Its 20HY at 115ma..

C

Logged
The Slab Bacon
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3929



« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2010, 08:06:32 AM »

Looks like one from as SP-210 or 400 with the remote power supply
Logged

"No is not an answer and failure is not an option!"
w1vtp
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2632



« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2010, 12:26:16 PM »

Looks like one from as SP-210 or 400 with the remote power supply

Good - so I have a spare.  Wonder how much current it will handle.  Hmmm  a mod reactor?
Logged
Ralph W3GL
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 748



« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 03:17:08 PM »


Yes, that choke is for any of the SP-400 series and older that used the external  power supply.

To find the current rating check the manual for the parts list of a '400 easly found on the net...

Way back when, IE, in the late 40's, early 50's you could find all the P.S. parts for the SP-200 series surplus receivers in the various surplus houses for pennies on the doller value of that stuff.
I actually bought a BC-1004 with the spare parts kit back then... Can't remember what happened to it but it was a great receiver back then...

If you attempt to try it as a mod reactor, be sure to isolate it above ground!  I dought the insulation will stand much more than 1kv even though it is potted...

Logged

73,  Ralph  W3GL 

"Just because the microphone in front of you amplifies your voice around the world is no reason to think we have any more wisdom than we had when our voices could reach from one end of the bar to the other"     Ed Morrow
ke7trp
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3654



« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2010, 03:23:42 PM »

I am showing 100MA.  Other sources are saying 115.

c
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.052 seconds with 18 queries.