The AM Forum
March 28, 2024, 09:34:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A high-fidelity interface for coverting line level audio (600ohm) to high-imp  (Read 30042 times)
W2WDX
« on: April 19, 2009, 02:14:58 PM »

Hi all,

By profession I am a recording/live sound engineer. One of the things we do in the studio is record a guitar directly into a console and then use a technique called "re-amping". While it is normal to record an electric guitar via a microphone on a guitar amplifier to get the overdrive and "crunch", we also record separately the direct signal of the guitar on another track to re-amp later. This mean we take the previously recorded "clean" signal and on playback we can then send that signal from the mixing console to other guitar amplifiers during mixdown and pick what we think works best for the given song. Guitar amplifiers have very high impedance inputs. This method allows us to record the same musician performance thru different guitar amplifiers without the need for the guitar player to be at the studio. We can get different tone, different mic placements, different overdrives from the same performance.

To do this we use devices called simply "re-amp boxes". These devices covert a standard balanced line level signal to the unbalanced high-impedance output required by a guitar amplifier. As with any technology, we used to simply use impedance converting transformers to accomplish this, (homebrew devices in most cases) but most of these homebrew devices were less than desirable from a performance point of view.