Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /homepages/11/d132647312/htdocs/Amfone/mkportal/include/SMF/smf_out.php on line 47
Pictures of the GS35 Amp Project - Updated 5/8




 
The AM Forum
January 17, 2022, 08:25:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of the GS35 Amp Project - Updated 5/8  (Read 6212 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
W1IA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 762



« on: May 06, 2009, 10:19:51 PM »

More pics with the Money Shot! Grin Just for you Frank

Working with KA2QFX on the amp and thought I would post some pictures as we progress.

https://home.comcast.net/~w1ia/new_page_7.htm

Brent W1IA

p.s. the finished tube socket design based on W4ZT

http://socket.gs35b.com/chimney/index.html
Logged

Run What Ya Brung!
The Slab Bacon
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3934



« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2009, 08:56:22 AM »

Tina,
       I looked at the pix. Where is the money shot? ? ? ? ? ? ?  Grin Grin


                                                                The Slab Babon
Logged

"No is not an answer and failure is not an option!"
Steve - WB3HUZ
Guest
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2009, 10:13:10 AM »

Didn't you see the tiny little FETs in there?
Logged
W1IA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 762



« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 10:21:24 AM »

Didn't you see the tiny little FETs in there?
You funny GI....Nope, this is going to have real bottles. Headed back to the shop to continue on FrankenStrap!

Brent
Logged

Run What Ya Brung!
W1IA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 762



« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2009, 10:34:34 PM »

another addition of pictures as of 5/8

Brent
Logged

Run What Ya Brung!
K1JJ
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8547


"Let's go kayaking, Tommy!" - Yaz


« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2009, 10:45:36 PM »

You guys do such nice work, I'm starting to feel inadequate and worthless... Grin



Logged

Use an "AM Courtesy Filter" to limit transmit audio bandwidth  +-4.5 KHz, +-6.0 KHz or +-8.0 KHz when needed. 

Nothing like a new homebrew rig. Come into the shack, flip on the switches and everything works perfectly.

And, nothing like an old dog.
Mike/W8BAC
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1042



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2009, 10:51:02 PM »

No attachment on your 5/8 post Brent.
Logged
KF1Z
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1796


Are FETs supposed to glow like that?


« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2009, 11:09:03 PM »

No attachment on your 5/8 post Brent.

website link....  first post.....
Logged

W1IA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 762



« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2009, 11:31:08 PM »

You guys do such nice work, I'm starting to feel inadequate and worthless... Grin





Amp may be the next GODZILLA! But without your antennas I will be the next tadpole in the pond Fabio! FrankenAmp is coming nicely...I am pondering a 3rd pube though...cause it will fit and I can get a bigger plate supply. The current supply is 5 Kv at 1.5 amps  Keith has a couple more at 3 amp at 6 Kv...Hmmmm? Roll Eyes
Logged

Run What Ya Brung!
K1JJ
Contributing
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8547


"Let's go kayaking, Tommy!" - Yaz


« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2009, 11:52:44 PM »

Amp may be the next GODZILLA! But without your antennas I will be the next tadpole in the pond Fabio! FrankenAmp is coming nicely...I am pondering a 3rd pube though...cause it will fit and I can get a bigger plate supply. The current supply is 5 Kv at 1.5 amps  Keith has a couple more at 3 amp at 6 Kv...Hmmmm? Roll Eyes

That's some nice milling and machining work. Tom Vu no patience to do such nice job.


Quad GS's wud be pretty neat too.  It wud look like a certain amp we know, but on steroids.... :-)

Driving that thing will be a challenge. Using a 3-500Z amp might be dirty cuz of the varying cathode load of the big amp. I went with SS MRF-150's in a FET quad amp. That seems to work really FB.  Check out CCI and their EB-104 for details.

T

Logged

Use an "AM Courtesy Filter" to limit transmit audio bandwidth  +-4.5 KHz, +-6.0 KHz or +-8.0 KHz when needed. 

Nothing like a new homebrew rig. Come into the shack, flip on the switches and everything works perfectly.

And, nothing like an old dog.
W1IA
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 762



« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2009, 12:00:05 AM »

Amp may be the next GODZILLA! But without your antennas I will be the next tadpole in the pond Fabio! FrankenAmp is coming nicely...I am pondering a 3rd pube though...cause it will fit and I can get a bigger plate supply. The current supply is 5 Kv at 1.5 amps  Keith has a couple more at 3 amp at 6 Kv...Hmmmm? Roll Eyes

That's some nice milling and machining work. Tom Vu no patience to do such nice job.


Quad GS's wud be pretty neat too.  It wud look like a certain amp we know, but on steroids.... :-)

Driving that thing will be a challenge. Using a 3-500Z amp might be dirty cuz of the varying cathode load of the big amp. I went with SS MRF-150's in a FET quad amp. That seems to work really FB.  Check out CCI and their EB-104 for details.

T


I could run the class-H modulated rig into it for linear service A.M. Phew! would that strap! But at least when its finished I will be able to hold up in the Winda with the array....OK I want mobile wearing pink dresses named Vlad driving K cars only! Shocked Grin
Logged

Run What Ya Brung!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

AMfone - Dedicated to Amplitude Modulation on the Amateur Radio Bands
 AMfone 2001-2015
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.07 seconds with 19 queries.