The AM Forum
April 25, 2024, 05:12:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Apache (Heathkit TX-1) Restoration  (Read 12097 times)
N2LDE
« on: October 31, 2007, 07:18:14 PM »

Hi Gang,

It's Tom the AM Newbie here!

I have 2 questions about getting my 1960 Apache up to speed:

1) I was advised to replace the HV electrolytic caps. According to the schematic, they are both 125 mfd. I can find 100 mfd caps, and 68 mfd caps (which I can wire in parallel for 136 mfd.) Which would be better? Or, if someone can point me to a source for 125 mfd 450V caps, I'd appreciate that as well!

2) I found almost all the tubes I need on-line, except fot the 12BY7 Audio Driver. Can anyone suggest an equivalent tube? Or an on-line source for the 12BY7???

Thanks in advance!

Tom
N2LDE
w4eal
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2007, 08:00:13 PM »

Hi Tom welcome aboard. I just did a Googlie and epay. Tonsof 12by7's available. Epay has about 80 of them listed (check stores too).

Den
w4eal
WB2G
Contributing

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2007, 08:45:59 PM »

Radio Daze has12BV7/12BY7A'S for $10,also carry an assortment of electrolyics. radiodaze.com.Joe WB2FQD

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power."Benjamin Franklin
Dan N3SMF
Contributing

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2007, 09:34:49 PM »

Welcome to AM.. Pay close attention to working voltages of the new caps and how you wire them series vs Parallel..Look ahead to any future mods you may be considering such as solid stating the pwr supplies which will of course raise the B+. I learned the hard way starting out new. When I threw the switch and blew the caps..it was a eye opener. The Apache is a fine transmitter and with a little overhaul and modification it makes a great starter rig. 
N2LDE
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2007, 10:09:31 PM »