The AM Forum
April 19, 2024, 07:28:52 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Calendar Links Staff List Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: negative peak limiting  (Read 8643 times)
ab3al
« on: September 05, 2007, 10:44:36 PM »

Ok I have been slowly upgrading the system here,  flex 1k is much better than the icom  crapola. henry 2k classic x.. legal limit plus never hurts. just hung a full wave loop in place of a short 80 diaperpole. behringer vx2000 and 9024 poor mans optimod.  Mics range from nuemans re20-27 marshal 2006 v67 mxl900 and some other crap. 

What about negative peak limiting.  all of the circuits i have found deal with this in the modulators of pm rigs. I know It could be done in the software for flex, but im not a programmer.  Is there a way to accomplish the same thing in the audio chain befor the rig

cua maaaan
Bacon, WA3WDR

« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 09:34:08 AM »

I got pretty good results with a very very fast peak limiter that would follow the waveform.  It acted as a clipper and it worked outboard.

You need some sort of dynamic DC correction if there will be AC coupling after the negative clipper, because the clipping will produce a DC offset.  But if you use a servo-clipper (a peak limiter with no filtering of the gain-control signal) and it has matching AC coupling to its level detector, this is automatic.  You can configure the servo-clipper to clip only one side of the waveform, or to clip asymmetrically, etc.

The clipped signal can then be low-pass filtered with something that does not produce ringing spikes that exceed the peak level, and you have a nice splatter filter.

Bacon, WA3WDR

Truth can be stranger than fiction.  But fiction can be pretty strange, too!
Todd, KA1KAQ
Administrator

AMbassador

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 10:22:04 AM »

NU9N has some good info here:

http://www.icycolors.com/nu9n/am.html