Rick Campbell's One Transistor Amp Article

(1/14) > >>

ssbothwell SWL:
hi, this is my first post here so forgive me if i do anything wrong. i'm new to ham radio and don't yet have my license. i've just been really busy lately and haven't gotten around to scheduling a test. i have read the ARRL license study guide and large sections of the ARRL handbook. 

i found the QST article by Rick Campbell KK7B called "Designing and Building Transistor Linear Power Amplifiers" on the ARRL handbook CD-ROM and thought it would be fun to try working through the methodology he presents. i'm not actually broadcasting anything or hooking it up to an antenna so i don't think i am breaking any rules doing this without a license.

i'm using a 2n3866 transistor which i found in a schematic for a low power linear amplifier in the ARRL handbook (page 13.24). i've gotten so far as building the LM317 bias circuit from Figure 4 in Rick Campbell's article and hooking up the transistor as in Figure 3 from the article. I am able to 'turn on' the transistor and i have gotten modest voltage gain on a signal from my function generator.

i am using a 50ohm dummy load as is recommended in the article. In the section titled Load Network (page 3) it says that with a 50ohm load the power output is a product of the supply voltage and that with a 12v supply i can get up to 1.44W of output. i assume that means i should be able to get ~8.5v P-P output across my dummy load (E^2/R=P).

i am sending a 7MHz signal at 100mV from my function generator into the transistor base along with a bias from the LM317 and i am powering the collector with 12V. my collector current and P-P voltage output to the dummy load seem to shift as the transistor heats up. i only have one multimeter so i cant look at bias voltage and collector current at the same time.